The Trump administration has taken actions against Russia in response to their expulsion of 755 American Diplomats. Veuer’s Natasha Abellard (@NatashaAbellard)

The Trump administration retaliated Thursday against Russia’s expulsion of U.S. diplomats ordering closed the Russian consulate and an official residence in San Francisco, a chancery annex in Washington, D.C., embassy and consular annex in New York. 

Secretary Tillerson phoned Lavrov Thursday to tell him that the Russian facilities in the U.S. will be closed, and that the closures will need to happen by Saturday, the State Department said. Spokeswoman Heather Nauert said the move brings the U.S. and Russia into “parity,” with each having three consulates in each other’s country.

Russian President Vladimir Putin ordered in July that 755 American diplomatic personnel leave Russia by this Friday. His move came days after Congress passed legislation strengthening financial sanctions on Moscow over its alleged meddling in the U.S. 2016 presidential election and support for separatist rebels in eastern Ukraine. 

While Russia expelled U.S. diplomats, the State Department is not requiring Russia to send its diplomats home. Russian diplomats may be reassigned to other diplomatic or consular posts in the U.S., the State Department said.

The Chancery annexes in Washington and the consular annex in New York both house Russian trade missions to the United States, but those activities may continue in other U.S. cities.

“The United States hopes that, having moved toward the Russian Federation’s desire for parity, we can avoid further retaliatory actions by both sides and move forward to…