LIA Names Laser Era Revolutionary Paul Seiler Recipient of 2017 Schawlow Award

Dr. Paul Seiler

“Even 14 years after retirement, I’m still just as fascinated by lasers as in 1963.” Seiler said.

The Laser Institute of America (LIA) proudly announces Dr. Paul Seiler winner of the 2017 Arthur L. Schawlow Award. The LIA selected Seiler for pioneering laser use, expanding the field of industrial laser use, and creating innovative tools. He has shown a fundamental understanding of laser materials interactions and how laser capabilities can be applied to daily life.

Seiler will address the laser community during the LIA Awards Luncheon, which is part of the 2017 International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO®). ICALEO conference attendees are invited to attend this momentous awards ceremony, a long-standing LIA tradition, in an awards luncheon sponsored by EdgeWave GmbH Innovative Laser Solutions. The ceremony takes place at 12:30 p.m. on October 25th, 2017, in Atlanta, GA.

The LIA created the Schawlow Award, given annually, for those who distinguish themselves through excellence in work related to basic and applied laser research. It is named after its initial recipient and 1981 Physics Nobel Prize Winner, Arthur L. Schawlow, whose work was instrumental to the invention of the laser. He was renowned for leveraging optical properties and co-obtaining the maser patent with Charles Townes.

Seiler will be recognized for his lifelong achievements in laser science and engineering. This year’s award recipient was a revolutionary – unhindered by the disbelief he encountered, and a dreamer from the beginning of his career.

“I started in 1963 inside a larger company and they lost the belief in lasers, that turned out to be a big misjudgment,” Seiler told LIA in a recent interview. “I…

Read the full article at the Original Source..

Back to Top