UFC 214 fight card primer: Cris Cyborg vs. Tonya Evinger

The first of three (three!) title fights at UFC 214 is the vacant women’s featherweight championship bout between Cris Cyborg (17-1-1 NC MMA, 2-0 UFC) and Tonya Evinger (19-5-1 NC MMA, 0-0 UFC). UFC 214: Cormier vs. Jones 2 airs live from Anaheim, California this Saturday night, July 29th. The main card airs on PPV at 10 PM ET/7 PM PT, with the preliminary card on FXX at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT, plus Fight Pass prelims at 6:30 PM ET/3:30 PM PT.

Germaine de Randamie was recently stripped of her title after refusing to fight Cyborg, who is the greatest women’s 145er of all-time. Evinger is replacing Megan Anderson, who withdrew due to undisclosed personal reasons. In a different world, this would’ve been a champion vs. champion battle between two Invicta FC titleholders. Cyborg is the heavy favorite to add UFC gold to her extensive list of accomplishments, while Evinger is seeking to make the most of her unexpected (and in the eyes of many, overdue) UFC call-up.

How do these two stack up?

Woodley: 32 years old | 5’8″ | 68″ reach
Evinger: 36 years old | 5’7″ | 67″ reach

What have these two done recently?

Cyborg: W – Lina Lansberg (TKO) | W – Leslie Smith (TKO) | W – Daria Ibragimova (KO)
Evinger: W – Yana Kunitskaya (SUB) | NC – Yana Kunitskaya | W – Colleen Schneider (UD)

How did these two get here?

It’s been a tough several months for Cyborg. Following her September 2016 win over Lina Lansberg, the Brazilian was passed over for the inaugural women’s featherweight title fight after she’d turned down the February date to face one of Holly Holm or Germaine de Randamie. She also dealt with a positive drug test for the banned substance spironolactone. USADA issued her a retroactive TUE, thus avoiding any suspension for taking the diuretic. Cyborg also stirred up some controversy for getting into a brief physical altercation with Angela Magana at the UFC Fighters Retreat, although no disciplinary action was taken from the UFC’s side. After nearly ten months…

Read the full article at the Original Source..

Back to Top