Here are the winners of the 2017 Dragon Awards

DragonCon was held this past weekend in Atlanta, Georgia, and the convention announced today the recipients of the second annual Dragon Awards. The prize is designed to be a “true reflection” of what science fiction and fantasy fans like and enjoy, and was marked with some controversy earlier this summer.

This year’s winners included the latest Expanse novel from James S.A. Corey, Babylon’s Ashes, as well as Larry Correia and John Ringo’s Monster Hunter Memoirs: Grunge, Cory Doctorow’s Walkaway, Netflix’s Stranger Things, and Nintendo’s The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. A full list of the winners can be seen below.

Orbit Books

The awards were founded as an alternative to the better-known Hugo Awards, issued annually at the World Science Fiction convention, and includes a range of novels, comics, video games, television shows, and movies.

This year’s awards were not without some controversy: several authors complained that the stories they were nominated for were being used by right-wing groups as a sort of proxy in a genre culture war. The convention initially refused to let them withdraw their works from the ballot, but later backtracked and permitted them to remove themselves. One of the authors who backed out of the ballot, N.K. Jemisin, did come away from the convention with an award: the Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction, for her story ”The City Born Great”, although this is unrelated to the Dragon Awards.

Here are the winners (indicated in bold):

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Babylon’s Ashes by James S.A. Corey
  • A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
  • Death’s End by Cixin Liu
  • Escaping Infinity by Richard Paolinelli
  • Rise by Brian Guthrie
  • Space Tripping by Patrick Edwards
  • The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi
  • The Secret Kings by Brian Niemeier

Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)

  • Monster Hunter Memoirs:

Read the full article at the Original Source..

Back to Top